Jefferson

You were fools to think you could bind me forever. One does not rise to power in a nation such as mine without achieving familiarity with – if not mastery over – the occult. Perhaps you thought the ease of my capture spoke to my being powerless once imprisoned.
*
Hardly so, dear captor. Men more powerful than me have taken less transient refuge in places far more desolate than this shining prison. A few hundred years of such is no more than a season of rest. This brief idyll has allowed me to rally my faculties and redouble my strength.
*
So look now to the trap that you felt could hold fast a soul such as mine. I flex my will, and the metal flows. I look squarely at you now, where once you thought me fixed in profile.
*
In only moments I shall be free.

*
–Steve Kilian

One Response to “Jefferson”

Leave a comment